JIT bugfixing for Xrandr

January 14, 2009 at 8:39 pm | Posted in KDevelop | 7 Comments

Last thursday/friday I sat down in another attempt to fix the problems I had with enabling my second monitor under a KDE4 desktop. KWin crashed for me as soon as I interacted with a window on the second screen and plasma didn’t add a containment for the new screen. I ended up in kephal, the new multi-screen library we have for KDE 4.2, which apparently didn’t notice the change in the X11 monitor layout.

After a post to the kwin list with tons of debug output and (hopefully) useful information, Guillaume Pothier answered with a path! After a bit of back and forth he was able to fix all problems he could find. This instantly fixed all problems I had with kwin and plasma.

So with KDE 4.2 I’m finally able to work on my laptop while watching Tv and then take it to my desk, add the external monitor and enjoy the two screen system. A big thanks to the kepahl developer. So as Alexander, I can finally say to anybody: If you want a slick modern desktop just install KDE 4.2🙂

PS : Also a big thank you to all other KDE devs which worked hard to make KDE 4.2 a really good Desktop Environment.

PPS: Oh, btw, AFAIK the mentioned fix hasn’t made it into the rc1, so don’t be worried if you’re running that and still have issues.

7 Comments

  1. Hi Andreas,

    Good read. Now, perhaps you can help me here😉 I have an external monitor that is detected as HDMI-1 by xrandr.

    As soon as I move a window to it, the monitor blinks at regular intervals (every few seconds). I am using 4.2 RC and the problem has not gone away.

    I suspect its due to the “KDED service for screen management” under Load-on-demand services that is causing it but I am unable to turn that off.

    Please advise.

    I have the same issue on Kubuntu as well as Mandriva (KDE 4.1.96) and openSUSE.

    Thanks.

  2. Good to hear. I noticed Plasma was fine if I set the dual screen options globally in xorg.conf (added something like “option “foo” “left-of” “bar”” in there somewhere… I forget), but not if I used xrandr from the konsole after I logged in. Of course, I was kinda making it up as I went along, so I didn’t know where the problem was.

    Either way, good to hear things are getting better in KDE4-land!

  3. HUZZAH!!!!!

    i’m *so* happy you were able to track this down. the multiscreen stuff has been driving me BONKERS, in part because i don’t have a multiscreen system right now and in part because the plasma code all looked correct. but knowing that looks can be deceiving i just kept pouring over it. thank you, thank you for giving me back some of my future evenings =)

    i owe you a beer, or whatever you prefer to drink.😉

  4. @Kanwar: As I said this code didn’t end up in the RC. I don’t know wether your issue is related, so far the main problem was crashing kwin due to kephal returning invalid screen numbers.

    @Jeff: Yeah, static xorg.conf worked fine, but unfortunately my girlfriend didn’t like me sitting in the other room all evening🙂

    @Aaron: You can’t imagine how bonkers it drove me🙂 And beer is just fine, but I guess that has to wait until next year (won’t be at akademy), unless you visit Hamburg🙂

  5. But I hope the fix goes into the kde 4.2 branch?

  6. @Andreas: I’ll wait for 4.2 final to see if my issue has been resolved.

    Btw, I have also tried to configure my dual-screen setup using the “System Settings”->”Display” option. It shows up alright with the screens stacked the way I want etc. However, the blink/flicker issue remains.

    Keeping fingers crossed for 4.2 final as I am so used to dual-screen that it would be a pity if I have to turn my laptop screen off and use just the external monitor!

    Cheers.

  7. @KDE Fan: The fix has already been comitted to trunk and 4.2 yesterday. Guess my third paragraph isn’t clear enough on that.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

