What to do when I don’t have New Project

December 15, 2008 at 12:11 am | Posted in KDevelop | 1 Comment

This has come up a few times lately, so I’ll do some explanations of possible causes for KDevelop4 not having a “New Project” entry in the menu. This simply means that a plugin wasn’t loaded, in particular here it is the Application Wizard plugin which provides the functionality to create new projects from templates.

This can have a few possible reasons, which are somewhat related. First of all: If you installed kdevelop4 into a different directory than your KDE4.2, then you need to make sure to set KDEDIRS apropriately. Lets say I have packages for KDE4.2 beta2 from my distribution, which install into /usr. So I have /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.4.2.0 and /usr/share/kde4/services and so on. This means, KDE4.2 uses /usr as so-called prefix. I then compiled and installed both kdevplatform and kdevelop into my home directory, so its in $HOME/kde4. I have $HOME/kde4/lib/libkdevplatforminterfaces.so.1.0.0 and $HOME/kde4/share/kde4/services/kdevappwizard.desktop. So the prefix for kdevelop4 is $HOME/kde4. KDEDIRS is simply a list of such prefixes, so I set it to be “$HOME/kde4:/usr” via “export KDEDIRS=$HOME/kde4:/usr” in a bash.

I’ve done this in a terminal, so I can be sure the environment is properly setup. Now I let KDE4 update its internal system cache, which also knows about all installed .desktop files for plugins. This is not (always) done automatically after installing new .desktop files, so if you don’t see the plugins, run the following command: kbuildsycoca4.

After that you should start kdevelop from the same terminal and then you should see the New Project entry and be able to create projects. If you still have problems, make sure you’ve built kdevelop in Debug mode (pass -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug to cmake) and collect the output via kdevelop >output 2>&1. Then join us in #kdevelop on irc.freenode.org and let us know the contents of the file, this should give us some hints why it fails for you and we can help you fix it.

1 Comment

  1. [...] entry and the underlying functionality is provided by a plugin. If you can’t see it, see my What to do when I don’t have New Project post. You should now see this [...]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

