KDE4 Desktop performance

September 15, 2008 at 12:06 am | Posted in KDE | 54 Comments

Warning, the following text might be exagarated and over-simplifying matters, some might call it a rant.

Used the new desktop now for a few days for my FOSS work and I still have that feeling around. KDE4 simply feels slow, I can’t really pin-point it to something specific – if I could I’d write bugreports. I just have the gut-feeling that with a fresh new, state-of-the-art laptop my desktop should be a lot quicker.

Konqueror is worst of all apps I’ve used thus far, scrolling with cursor keys I can actually see the repainting happen – while opening a new tab seems to be a lot faster than in kde 3.5. Rendering in general also feel slow. Kate is another example of an application, that seems to be doing something extra which it shouldn’t. When typing quickly the response on screen often is a few msecs late and as a human you quickly notice such things.

I really expect a new machine, with state-of-the-art, but not super-fast intel integrated graphics, a SATA disk and a dual core 2.2GHz processor to perform better than my 5 year old 1.4GHz Centrino with KDE 3.5. Unfortunately reality is different, which sucks. I don’t know about other people, but personally if I feel that my working environment slows me down I tend to do one of two things: switch the working env (not an option due to size constraints on the disk) or find something different to do – like watching a nice movie and chatting a bit on IRC. Yeap, you could call that my personal problem, but I simply don’t have that when using KDE3.5, and no I don’t want to stick to KDE 3.5 indefinetly. Developing a KDE4 app means you’ve got 85% of the KDE4 desktop installed and then also the KDE3 one. I don’t like wasting my disk space this way.

I know people are working on making things faster/smoother and I actually expect them to do that. I’m wondering actually, since Desktop Effects with OpenGL work a lot faster than “normal painting”, wether we should all just switch to OpenGL for rendering the normal GUI’s🙂

Before I finish, am I the only one having that gut feeling about slight slowness all over the place?

54 Comments

  1. I think it’s really poor form to go slagging off on KDE4, and have your blog sydnicated to planet kde. The least you can do is be constructive.

    As KDE developers we should be trying to provide a good role model to those contributors and users who follow our blogs.

  2. No. You’re certainly not alone. I’ve got the exact same problem on an older machine though.
    And having everything compiled without debug does not make it significantly faster.

    Some operations are pretty slow, like opening a folder in Dolphin with lots of files in it or marking these files. Kate sometimes makes it look like editing a text file is more resource hungry than playing a video game.

    The slowness of Konqueror “converted” me to Firefox that I rarely used before.

    Atm. I’m waiting for speed improvements — let’s see what Qt 4.5 will deliver.

  3. Ah, forgot something. Searching in Akregator is also very, very, very slow here.

  4. I always had that gut feeling since I tried KDE4 for the first time, and I still have it. But it’s getting better recently, specially since I have newer NVIDIA drivers on one computer. However, even on my other computer with intel graphics, that gut feeling stays. This is a serious problem in my opinion, and I just hope that Qt 4.5 will fix it.

  5. what kind of graphics card/chip do you have?
    if you have an intel, try putting this in your device section of xorg.conf:
    Option “MigrationHeuristic” “greedy”
    Made things a tad bit snappier here.

  6. Hmmm… I have heard of impressions of slowness during the pre-4.0 period and from people using very old computers with unfortunate choices in graphics cards. I have a laptop with integrated Intel graphics as well, albeit a little slower than your, but I cannot make out a difference to KDE3. Some apps seem a little faster, some a little bit slower. Over all it is very fast (using the desktop effects, too); I cannot complain. In fact, I am very happy.

    I hope your issues get straightened out.

  7. > Rendering in general also feel slow.
    > Kate is another example of an application,
    > that seems to be doing something extra which
    > it shouldn’t. When typing quickly the response
    > on screen often is a few msecs late and as a
    > human you quickly notice such things.

    Is this applicable to all Qt 4 applications, or just KDE 4 ones? Does changing the theme make any difference? What about changing the window manager? Is ‘normal painting’ desktop effects off or desktop effects with XRender? If ‘normal painting’ is slow then maybe there is an X problem? OpenGL only accelerates an extra stage in the graphics pipeline which is skipped entirely if desktop effects are disabled. How well does KDE 4 (release build) work on your 5 year old machine – compared with KDE 3 apps on the same hardware?

    Plus, you really should have been using KDE 4 much earlier. It has been usable for day-to-day work for the last 4-6 months. If we, as developers, don’t use our own desktop then how can we expect anyone else to? Even if you are really only interested in KDevelop you still need to be part of the larger community of developers and testers.

    > I know people are working on making
    > things faster/smoother and I actually expect
    > them to do that

    Trolltech have already done two major rounds of optimization work for Qt 4.3 and 4.4. Don’t wait for miracles to happen. If you have problems then you need to investigate them and get others looking into them now.

  8. My experiences have been a mixed bag. I had Gentoo testing (with the X11 overlay) running, and was using /branch and then /trunk, both compiled all Cmake-style. KDE4 was sluggish. Really, really sluggish. Drawing, opening programs, you name it.

    I bailed on that set up. Right now I’ve got openSUSE 11.0 running, using the Build Service packages for /branch. It runs pretty well. A bit slower than 3.5.9, but barely. All I notice is Konqueror and Kmail crashing when I type more than a couple lines.

  9. I have the same impression of slowness.

    In my case it’s more generic than KDE4. All my linux instances gives a slower UI experience than the XP instance i have.

    I notice specially the mouse. Somehow I feel that the mouse is really really smooth in windos compared to jerky Linux distors (it feels like a movie dropping frames). Which matters big in a GUI based user experience.

    But maybe its just me!

  10. Since 4.1 was released, my experience has been that KDE 4 has been at least as fast as the KDE 3.5 for almost everything.

    Konqueror is a notable exception. But even Konqueror performs acceptably unless something makes it unstable (usually a memory leak in the flash plugin or sommething). I also have an integrated Intel chip.

    There have also been a few instances where my system became inexplicably (well, inexplicable because I didn’t feel like taking the time to track down the bug) laggy or unstable, but these have been sufficiently infrequent that they don’t affect my workflow.

    My general feeling is that rendering speed and performance are not the real issue — it is memory consumption. Some of the fancy new graphics use a lot of memory. Once my system starts swapping to disk, my system becomes unbearably slow, but as long as I limit the number of plasmoids I’m running and the number of applications I have going at once, KDE 4 isn’t too bad.

  11. Hi, in fact, it totally depend on hardware. I made some test. With my nvidia card, I can’t use plasma, moving widget is actually a pain. If it go over an other widget, it take like 10 second before it repaint. Same for scrolling. Same for apps, they just fell slow, dolphin is the worst and konqueror is not better.

    Then I tied something (let say radical). I removed Xorg and installer Xfbdev directly on top of vesafb (not even tng, nvidiafb or uvesafb). You will not belive me, but all lagg and speed problem were just gone. All gtk apps are not usable, thats the downside, they feel like KDE4 apps with nvidia driver and xorg. But all KDE4 apps actually repaint just fine and dont lagg at all.

    Xfbdev is also cool with laptop because it start in a blink of an eyes and take many time less ressources. I use awesomeWM as windows manager with iDesk and conky and all that start (I did benchmarks) in 1/3 second. Better than xorg+kde with 25 second. And because I use only KDE4 apps, It just work ™ for me.

    KDE 4.2 (updated daily)
    MacBook Pro 2.2ghz
    2gb Ram
    1440×900
    NVIDIa 8600GT 128mo
    Debian Sid (and gentoo before)

  12. I’m using KDE 4.1.1 and I can tell you that you’re not the only one. It’s pretty straining on expectations when you’re used to the responsiveness of the 3.5 series. I don’t really know what’s going on, although it does seem to get slightly better with each release… So I’m waiting it out and using KDE4 as an exercise in patience and controlling one’s serenity. (Arg! Why is there a noticeable delay in the display of characters when I type this? It’s so frustrating!!)

  13. the slow repainting is a problem i had with an old kernel, i updated it and voila, it painted normally.

  14. I dont have too many issues with speed, but then it may be that u have the debug versions of a program installed which always slows down the speed or some other random process running thats eating up cpu. Do Alt+F2 and click the show system activity to see which processes are eating up the cpu and memory. Then again maybe its just a hardware issue with ur laptop, or even something to do with ur version of KDE 4.

  15. please, next time use the kde-devel list.

    posting this on planetkde instead, just means that you’re not really interested in discussing this with other devs, instead you just want to whine in public.

    blogs are _not_ the new mailinglists.

  16. Well, it definitely felt a little slow at first on my desktop – I just installed it yesterday. But that was while compiling more apps. Compared to 3.5, it was absolutely slower while compiling; I noticed the same things you did, which weren’t an issue in 3.5.

    However, now that I’m not abusing the CPU, it’s doing really well. Text entry is keeping up, scrolling is clean, and overall it’s just as responsive. This is on a Celeron D 2.4 GHz, 1G ram, SATA drive.

    My problem right now is the slow painting while switching desktops, and plasma’s animations are choppy and messy. Some of that could be due to my poorly supported ATI card. Checking my EeePC (kde 4.0), plasma is smoother… Odd.

  17. I have issues with KDE 4 as well. Using it since the pre 4.0 times for developping, I have made the experiences that plasma animations often are not really sluggish but not anti-aliased or sometimes hanging (more likely a coding/syncing than a performance issue) or resetting its rotation, showing the controls on hover when being locked…
    My Intel 945 chipset with onboard graphics is really bad with kwin composite effects enabled and slows down scrolling with 100% cpu to a mess so I deactivated it completely. This is most likely a driver issue since I use the older 2.3 version here. Compiz works better though but is much more matured.
    But even worse is that the plasma containments do not properly map to my external and internal (vga/lvds) views on the intel hardware. The external view even hangs and needs a *reboot* from time to time.

    Imo KDE needs to get worked out much better in these issues instead of pumping new features and frameworks in which has been the most work for KDE 4 until now and seems to be much more interesting for developers reputation, especially in GSoC or students who see FOSS mostly as a playground. Solid for example, which is a great idea, only now gets proper powermanagement support, which is amazing since this is one of its major features. Strigi still does not index on NFS with clucene here (beagle worked 1 year ago) and redland renders nepomuk unusably slow in 4.1. KHtml still cannot load youtube.com here directly and Webkit (which is much faster in my kpart tests) still has no flash support and proper integration. But what now? Gecko integration? This is plain stupid. If it continues like that, while Gnome users have a really slick Epiphany with KHtml/Webkit integrated *NOW*, KDE users won’t be able to have a decent rendering engine (originally their own) in any time soon. It’s really a pity for KDE.
    Hopefully the next versions will show less glitches and much better integration, workflow optimizations and bug fixes in these frameworks and the yet to do good integration. Otherwise KDE will lack behind Gnome which focuses integration first and adds new features only when they are done properly.

  18. Hmm, intel graphics?

    This increases performance a lot:

    # Option “CacheLines” “32768”
    # Option “DRI” “true”
    # Option “AccelMethod” “exa”
    # Option “MigrationHeuristic” “greedy”

    But now I’m using mesa 7.1 and the new xserver, so even without that I get much better performance in kde4

    I’m running a 667mhz eeepc and everything is smooth

  19. If you’re using nvidia that could be your issue

  20. I have some slownes as well. But not as bad as you I think. Krunner is really slow for me. Also Konqueror is _verry_ unstable. All this on one PC running NVIDIA GPU and one laptop running ATI GPU. In OpenSuse11 (with a few added repositories). Due to the fact I’m running PACMAN and other repositories here I do not complain🙂

  21. i have the same thing which is why i use openbox for now…

    if i, for example resize some windows it is visibly stuttering, while it is absolutely smooth, if i am not in kde…

    dolphin is very slow, sometimes it needs 3 seconds to go back one dir (which only contains a couple of files). – and i wouldnt know how this could be related to nvidia😛

    konqueror is slow too, but thats probably just khtml being not optimal yet.

  22. I second Paulo’s comment. KDE 4.1.1 from Debian experimental was just as snappy as 3.5.9 on my 1.83 ghz core 2 duo laptop, w/ Intel graphics and 1 GB ram. Updating xserver-xorg-video-intel from 2.3.2-2+lenny3 to lenny4 gave me the same problems with konqueror you mentioned. The changelog:

    * Kill 02_xaa_by_default_on_i965.diff. Switching to XAA breaks Xvideo,
    which is Not Good™.
    * New patch 02_965_no_exa_composite.diff: add a “RenderAccel” option, to
    control whether EXA composite acceleration is enabled. Default to off on
    i965+ to hopefully avoid the font rendering issues reported in #451791 and
    friends.

    Making sure DRI, EXA, etc. are enabled (or downgrading if you’re using debian) will probably make things normal.

  23. I have a MacBook Pro 2.4ghz (early 2008) which has a nVidia GeForce 8600M GT and performance is terrible. I know this is due to the buggy nVidia drivers, but reading this I can’t believe a eeePC outperforms this powerhorse.

    I will try again (and longer) when Mesa 7.1 and the new Xorg are released for my distro.

  24. Too many comments to respond to any individually (or even read all of them in full). Just a few remarks:

    – I did build kdelibs in Debug mode (and Qt as well), so that could be an issue, kdelibs will be rebuild in RelWithDebInfo but I currently don’t know how to achieve that with Qt itself.

    – Thanks for X11 tweaks, I’ll try them out

    – In general its not so bad that I can’t use it, its just a feeling that it should be faster/snappier

    @Robert: with “general painting” I’m talking about the “plain old” QPainter painting, not desktop effects or anything. Just what happens in an arbitrary widget. I do have one or two effects enabled using OpenGL. On the old machine KDE4 without any desktop effects (no acceleration available) is even slower than on the new laptop and a lot slower than kde3 on the same machine. Its too slow to do day-to-day work, besides I’m still missing features from KDE4 which I personally can’t live without.

  25. “Before I finish, am I the only one having that gut feeling about slight slowness all over the place?”

    No, I have same thing with AMD 4000+ X2 and 4GB ram with Nvidia 8600GT.

    But With my laptop, Intel T7300 Duo CPU (2Ghz) and 2Gb ram with ATI (AMD) X2500 Mobility… it just Fly…

    All desktops what I have used what are slow and slaggy, have be with Nvidia card. All machines with ATI (AMD) card have be very snappy and fast.

    I currently have these two computers on my desktop running exactly the same Mandriva Cooker version. Only difference is the HD and of course, the 3D chip what actually makes things different. Because GNOME does run perfectly fine on both. And PC games too runs at great speed. But KDE4 just is slow on Nvidia. (And not, the nVidia tweaks does not help on my computer)

    The Konqueror is very slaggy when scrolling with mouse wheel. But when draggin from slider, it just is smooth. Same is with arrow keys, pressing them is slaggy but with shift+arrow it is smooth.

    Krunner takes about 2-4 seconds to show up. And when I type something on it, it takes 2-4 seconds to show results. And results will just “pop-up” there, I dont see any smooth effect with letters what I type. This with Nvidia but with AMD, it just is how it should be.

    I would blame only a Nvidia with these results what _I have got_ with multiple computers. I have not tested with Intel so I dont know anything about it.
    And what makes this very intresting, I changed my 8600GT to my friend ATI (AMD) X800 card when he was here, and everything was snappy again. So since then, everytime when I see that Linux operating system and Nvidia drivers are updated on cooker when I update system via urpmi, I hope there is fix for this stupid lag.

  26. I have the same feeling as you Andreas. However I gave it a good thought, and I think this is perfectly normal. So much has changed and happened in KDE4 that it would be naive to think it would magically run without a hickup. It took KDE3 years to become so fast and polished, the same will be true of KDE4. I say; optimize last! I’m sure the architecture of KDE4 will stand the test of time and allow for optimizations down the line. Patience my friend😉

  27. Same here, 8600GT, lots of Xorg options, latest NVidia drivers, some nvidia settings set – nothing helps. KDE3 is still a lot faster on the same machine.

    I wonder where the problem is. Certainly KDE4 rendering is faster on my laptop with ATI X1600 but it still somehow “feels” slow. So it may not be completely dependent from gfx cards and drivers.

    @Seb Ruis: trying to silence down the problem doesn’t sound like a good role model either.

  28. Same here. And its not an nvidia problem, because i have it on nvidia (7600GT) and intel (i965/gma3100).
    What bugs me the most is that on rendering windows or context menus, during painting (Sometimes like 3 seconds or even longer) you can see lot of garbage where the window will occur, like stripes.
    I had this also in 4.0 and hoped it will be gone in 4.1, but no.
    I think its good you posted this on planet, because in mailing list it would not reach that much people to confirm this behaviour, and in general its no good idea to keep such experiences only for developers, just to keep a good image to the “outer world”.

  29. I use KDE4 on daily basics from march (svn) and it was always snappy (execpt one time when i had bad xorg.conf) so i think that is a candidat for a bug report

  30. You are right, same things here. This is why i changed to gnome recently… i hope there will be improvements in speed and “quality” of the apps in future, so i can try KDE again…
    With 4.x it wasn’t really usable to me anymore, and 3.x is lacking some features….

  31. @Seb Ruiz: It’s _open_ source, so why keep the problems secret? This is a problem that frustrates many, it needs more recognition.

    Also users suffering from the problem might feel better when they see that the developers notice the problem too.

    However commenters should stay with the subject.

  32. @David Nolden: it’s not that anyone is trying to keep anything secret, but the relevant -devel mailing list (which are publicly available) would be the appropriate place for a discussion, which is what this clearly is (hence all the @somebody comments)

  33. > Its too slow to do day-to-day work, besides I’m
    > still missing features from KDE4 which I
    > personally can’t live without.

    If you really cannot live without something then use the KDE 3 app for whichever task is affected and KDE 4 for everything else. Or better yet, go and implement the feature.

    When you’re at work with no time to spare I can sympathize with sticking with a setup which works but not at home.

  34. It seems that nvidia and intel are really slow with KDE4 then.
    Fortunately all my videocards (and even IGPs) are ATI. Last year I was saying unfortunately when I had sucky drivers, ha ha. How things change..
    So the question is: Is this really an nvidia and intel problem or is it a KDE4 problem with regards to nvidia and intel (a weakness in them?).
    Because I’m pretty sure nvidia and intel still have better drivers than my ATI and beat it hands down in every other area such as gaming and gnome. So why not KDE4?

  35. Oops, can’t edit? Forgot to mention: I have a ATI Radeon 9600 and a ATI Radeon X200 (Integrated Graphics) and KDE4, plasma and desktop effects are very fast here.
    I would go as far as to say that they are faster than a normal desktop (without desktop effects) even!

    I’ll throw in: the cards run compiz at about the same speed as KDE4’s desktop effects.

  36. “please, next time use the kde-devel list.
    posting this on planetkde instead, just means that you’re not really interested in discussing this with other devs, instead you just want to whine in public.”

    Um, he posted this on his personal blog that just happens to be syndicated on PlanetKDE. Surely he can post anything he wants to his own blog?

  37. I noticed this too.

    I’m using a laptop with Pentium M, 1.4GHz, ATI Radeon Mobility 9000 and radeon driver. This is not a superfast setup, but it should be well enough to snappy paint some stupid widgets. Interestingly it’s not even the fancy stuff which is slow, Kwin with composite and effects is actually pretty fast. It’s the “normal” painting which is/feels slow! Also a good performance indicator is the CPU fan of the laptop, while it stays mostly quiet with KDE3(except for CPU intensive stuff of course), it starts up for every little thing with KDE4…

    Besides a generally slow feeling there are a few particular examples where CPU goes through the roof, for just nothing!

    1) Hovering over plugin configuration lists (e.g. KWin effects or KRunner plugins)
    2) Hovering over the process list in the process manager (accessible via that little button in KRunner)
    3) Hovering over the desktops in the little minipager in the panel
    4) Resizing windows

    and

    5) Scrolling in konqueror. My CPU is simply incapable to keep up with smooth scrolling. Disabling this, makes it at least usable, though still a bit jerky.

    My tests showed that it’s probably neither KWin nor Oxygen, it happens with KDE3s KWin and with Plastique style. So I suspect it to be Qt4 which is just slow, or some special bits of the driver used by Qt4.

  38. @Robert: Using a KDE3 app inside KDE4 is a PITA, as is the other way around. Especially so if that application is supposed to be automatically launched as neither KDE3 nor KDE4 sessionmanagement call the apps shell script that I have to setup the environment. Besides, I don’t think you can really ask me to use KDE4 on a machine that simply is too old for it. And regarding the missing features, one is already almost done (konsole session support), the other I indeed wanted to tackle myself, but so far I simply don’t have the time to do that. And as KDE3 works just fine I don’t see an urgent need to do so.

  39. And in regards to discussing this on the right -devel list: I’ve got no idea what I’m facing here, that is I have no idea where this feeling stems from, so how am I supposed to write to any list or report a bug against a component. Bugreports need a certain amount of details for developers to fix the underlying issue and I can’t provide the details. All I have is a _feeling_ that my desktop is a tad bit slow.

  40. Apaku: more detailed info/bug reports on any slowness you see in Konq will be appreciated.
    Sysprof may be able to provide useful info, too.

    Also, outside of it, you may find Plastique to be smoother overall than Oxygen, though both are unfortunately rather heavy in X memory use.
    Still, there is no reason for you to be seeing problems, since things have worked pretty smoothly for me on much lower-end hardware.

  41. > KHtml still cannot load youtube.com here directly and Webkit (which is much faster in my kpart tests) still has no flash support and proper integration.

    Wait… I’ve been using youtube,com from Konqueror for a while now. The only problem I have is that the comments section doesn’t work right. Actual video viewing (“Flash”) works.

  42. Germain Garand just checked in a patch to qt-copy,
    which hopefully will fix a whole class of scrolling/repaint performance issues!

    See this bug report http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=167739

    “QWidgetPrivate::scrollRect doesn’t account for it’s rect argument
    but rather examine the whole widget surface when pondering if
    it can apply accelerated blitting, resulting in unnecessarily slow
    and non-blitting QWidget::scroll calls.”

  43. With regards to the Nvidia problems — using EnyNG to install the lastest nvidia drivers (still beta I think) fixed the problem for me.

  44. @SadEagle: I’m already not running Oxygen (QtCurve over here). Regarding the slowness I can’t find an example right now – after rebuilding kdelibs in release mode (though -O2 was used before too). I think smooth scrolling was a problem when quickly jumping a few pages up/down when its a “heavy” page, so I actually jumped up more than I wanted because the animation lagged behind. But I need to find a reproduceable case before I can file a bugreport.

  45. @ Michael “Huh?” Howell:

    What’s wrong with the youtube comments? I do know switching pages didn’t use to work, because yours truly is a moron and managed to forget to forwardport support for a certain mozillaism to 4.x, but that should be fine now.

    @ac:
    That change mainly helps (and makes a huge difference) in the case where the window has 2 scrollbars, not the normal 1-scrollbar windows, though might also matter when embedded into apps.

    @apaku:
    Well, it’s good that release mode helped. This sort of stuff is ridiculously hard to pin down, due to different websites, drivers, and the asynchrony of the thing.

  46. @SadEagle: this might help with embedded windows? That would rock, scrolling performance has mostly been great for me in konqi, but in Akregator it sucked balls. Rebuilding Qt & KDE right now😉

  47. Can’t copy your problem. I’m using Kubuntu on a Dell D830 with Intel GPU. No tuning in the xorg.conf (although I will try the tips in the comments here).

    The KDE 4.1.1 on my system is just as snappy as 3.5 was.

  48. […] KDE4 Desktop performance Warning, the following text might be exagarated and over-simplifying matters, some might call it a rant. Used the new […] […]

  49. I have the same “slowness” impression. Every single little operation is slower, I don’t mean *SLOW*, but there are little delays in every operation, maybe milliseconds, that give an overall slowness impresson.

    From moving a window, activating a menu, everything takes a little longer than expected. I’m running svn with debugfull, I’ll try release mode as adviced somewhere else.

  50. Don’t use MigrationHeuristic greedy.
    It breaks systray. Known bug reported.

  51. what’s your dual core proc model?

    TXXXX ?

    if its a T23XX or a T5XXX

    I would not call it state-of-the-art

    a T9300 in the other hand. are pretty much the best around.

  52. just an note: kde4 “felt sluggish” until I came across this blog post http://blog.nixternal.com/2007.12.30/intel-945-video-hint/

    the suggestions doubled my fps with glxgears and kde4 practically zips!

  53. I think that this is a very personal experience… I’ve got a low end laptop, and KDE 4 is wonderful…

    With older versions of Ubuntu, I wouldn’t be able to effectively run Compiz, so I left everything sitting around with no snazzy effects.

    KWin, on the other hand, looks terrific on my wimpy hardware.

    I don’t see too many speed issues, except when I’m running simulations – and then, it’s still better than my XP machine, which has the same amount of RAM and a faster processor, but bloated software.

    I’m just pleased overall – but best of all, I’m thrilled with the fact that the community is always working on it, and we’ll see speed improvements and interesting options in the future.

  54. If you are on intel, seriously, use XAA. EXA sucks so much performance… resizing windows or toggling active/inactive is a pain in the ass using EXA. XAA is much faster than it, but slower in composite mode. but not near as slower as EXA in non-composite mode.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

