Finally using KDE4!?

September 11, 2008 at 8:25 pm | Posted in KDE | 19 Comments

So, after receiving my new laptop and reading Ruud’s Blog post (seems like planetkde somehow lost it, anybody knows what happened?) I’ve decided to install only KDE4 on it. Partly because I won’t use the linux installation that much and partly because its new hardware thats capable of using all the new bling – yes I like bling sometimes.

As always building trunk was no problem at all – thanks to kdesvn-build. Most of the time was spent to find the needed/optional dependencies and install them.

Altogether it seems KDE4 is going its way, there have certainly been quite some improvements, despite all the nay-sayers. OTOH I’m still missing the kde3-way of switching windows with kwin, particularly the border around the window thats selected in the list. I doubt I’ll have the time to that myself. Also I just noticed that konsole doesn’t have any menu accelerators and one can’t activate the menu via alt (going to file a bugreport later). I also think it has far too many shortcuts set by default, almost everything you can do in its GUI has a shortcut, which is problematic because the application running inside the terminal doesn’t get any of those shortcuts anymore. So I couldn’t switch between mailboxes in mutt, until I disabled the “Bookmark” shortcut – what the hell is a bookmark used for in a terminal application???

What still bothers me, but thats not necessarily a KDE problem, might also be in Qt, is the general slowness of things. Its not so noticeable on the laptop, but on the old its still pretty much impossible to have really smooth KDE4 experience – and its not _that_ old hardware (close to 5 years now). Even running KDE4 apps like kate outside KDE4 is slower than the kde3 version. I guess we’ll see another major improvement here with qt4.5.

To conclude: I think I’m going to stick with KDE4 on the laptop for now, I just need to find a proper IRC client as konversation developers didn’t have time for a port yet. If anybody has a tip for a non-kde3 app for that I’d apperciate it (I don’t have space for KDE3 apps on my linux partition).

19 Comments

  1. I got ruurd’s post in my rss-feed from planetkde, fwiw.

  2. oh, and quassel is a nice qt4 irc client.

  3. Yeah, I’ve got it in akregator too, but its gone from the planetkde.org website…

    About quassel, I’ve checked that out a bit ago and couldn’t find out how to use multiple servers at the same time. Maybe its worth another try now that I can’t use konversation

  4. You can try kvirc compiled from source with qt4 and kde4 support.

  5. What about plain ol’ Irssi?

  6. What about Xchat, quite easy to use.
    Good luck.😉

  7. thats just configuring networks in the settings dialog, but has probably changed. quassel is really cool🙂

  8. I think bookmarks are useful. I’m using them for remote sites I access with ssh.

  9. irssi is text-based and I’ve usually don’t have the terminal with it open when somebody pings me -> bad🙂

    xchat sounds like plain X11 toolkit – eeek😉

    I’ve just installed quassel and know again whats missing: Tabs to switch between the channels I joined.

    I’m going to look at kvirc now. Thanks for all the suggestions though.

  10. Ruurd’s posts have rarely been anything other than negative, flat-out abusive, emotional rants. I’m pleased it “disappeared” from the planet, – although you may find it’s disappearance was more intentional. I just wish Ruurd would disappear too..

  11. Ruurd’s blog is not on planetkde anymore since the moderators did not think it was useful any longer.
    Ruurs is not doing any development and only blogs grumpy complaints.

  12. @Maarte: So you’re saying that blogs will get removed from planetkde.org if the blog-poster rants about things? Sounds a bit like censorship to me actually. And this is also nowhere indicated on the website. While I agree that personal attacks don’t belong into any blog, I don’t see that in his last post (didn’t check out earlier stuff from Ruurd) – much to the contrary of what you just said.

  13. @apaku

    Planet KDE is described as “an aggregation of public weblogs written by contributors to the K Desktop Environment”. If Ruurd is no longer contributing to KDE (as Jos says), then his blog doesn’t belong on the planet.

  14. xchat is gtk+2


    🙂

  15. > So you’re saying that blogs will get removed from
    > planetkde.org if the blog-poster rants about things?

    no, you have to try a lot harder than that. it takes repeatedly ranting without care for others while not otherwise contributing to the project.

    lots of people rant from time to time; i do it myself sometimes. we often don’t agree with each other (it’s a big community these days), and that’s ok too. but those rants are not those person’s defining and consistent characteristic, and they also tend to actually be involved in the project in a productive fashion otherwise.

    > Sounds a bit like censorship to me actually.

    no, trying to shut down his blog would be censorship.

    ruurd is welcome to continue blogging and get his blog syndicated wherever he can. but we don’t have to lend our resources and our name to people who insist on being anti-constructive and not contribute in any way.

    sometimes keeping a community healthy is also being able to say “no” to people. being on planetkde.org is, just like committing code to svn, a privelege not a right. we are very, very permissive with that privelege (it’s rather easy to get an svn account or be on planetkde) and very conservative in taking it away. it’s still, however, something one earns through their behaviour.

  16. apaku, it is a known problem that alt does not activate the menu in konsole. i filed a bug report and it seems that it is fixed in trunk. if you want it to work in kde4.x, too, you should bug robert knight to backport it.

    see: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=154755

  17. mutlu: Its unfortunately not fixed in trunk, I’m running trunk actually and have that problem. Anyway, talked to Robert already and we do have an idea how to fix that once and for all.

  18. is there a kde4 knetworkmanager, or… what did you use?

  19. Hey Chani, I’m actually looking for a suitable KDE4 solution for automatic network connection. kdebase has “something” that uses the networkmanager libraries, but I haven’t dived into it yet. So far I’m manually editing /etc/network/interfaces after boot to switch the network.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

