KDevelop4 Hackathon

April 16, 2008 at 10:50 am | Posted in KDevelop | 1 Comment

As I’m just re-compiling KDev4 I’ve got a few spare minutes to blog.

So we had a really great weekend with lots of interesting speaks and even more discussions about what we want/need to have in KDevelop4 and how things should work. The todo-list got ridiculously large (which is good actually)🙂

And right now everybody except Hamish (who got a bit sick after last nights “Schweinshaxe”) is hacking to bring KDevelop4 into a usable state. The User interface got large fixes and the C++ support shouldn’t crash so often anymore. Actually I noticed that a release build of kdelibs+kdevelop is a bit more stable because assert’s are ignored.

Personally its really inspiring to sit here within a group of 10 other geeky hackers and get something cool done.

Oh and btw. I think we can now invite interested “testers” to try out kdevelop4, I’m using it since 2.5 days now and it is pretty usable already, albeit a tad bit slow and crashy in debug-build. So I’ll either start hacking on workspace support now or also do my tad bit of boring Ui stuff – not sure.

1 Comment

  1. Sounds great! I’m not developing KDev4 but you have best wishes from me as I can see huge potential in thie IDE. I’d love to support you but I have full-time job. I wish there is “KDev4” full time job so I could switch🙂

    I test KDev4 regularry. I’ve tried to build whole KDE4 yesterday but kdevelop failed with some covariant return type (some interfacte with const pointer, I don’t remember at the moment). If I have some other crashes I surely let you know.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

