Speaking of stupid mistakes and KDevelop3 bugs

February 28, 2008 at 7:14 pm | Posted in KDE, KDevelop, Real life | 2 Comments

What I really love about myself is that for some reason I can’t stop making really stupid mistakes. I know everybody makes them, but somehow I’ve got the feeling I’m doing much more than anybody else.

Latest two occurence are bugs in KDevelop3.5.0 (one of them being in probably all releases since 3.4.0). I mean how damn stupid does somebody have to be to

a) use 2 variables, one named line the other named sline in the same function and

b) then mix those two variables up, which results in this: Bugreport 158236

The other one was pointed out on IRC today, stupid logic mixup with the same code in the else-part as in the if-part of an if-else. No wonder that you can’t turn off the warnings in QMake projects in KDevelop3.

I only catched the last one “by accident”, because I usually read the IRC backlog when I wasn’t sitting at the PC for a while. This one probably wouldn’t have ended in bugzilla as apparently some people think its not worthwhile to file bugreports against KDevelop3.

Thats however not true, especially if you’re not using one of the unmaintained parts. But even then, no bugreport is always worse than a bugreport that gets closed as wontfix (or fixed in 4.0 which is not yet usable on a wide scale). Obviously the problem here is to know which parts are unmaintained. So here’s a (probably incomplete) list:

fortran, java, php, python (this one will come back for 4.1), sql, csharp, bash, pascal, kdevdesigner (short note: use the normal Qt designer, you loose almost nothing and gain a lot of stability), valgrind, fileselector (known to be pretty buggy), distribution packaging, texttools, clearcase, perforce.

I’m not saying that bugs (especially crashes and the like) against these components will simply rot, I’m just saying its unlikely that they’ll get much attention as we simply don’t have many active developers and need to work on KDevelop4.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.