debugger performance

December 30, 2007 at 4:34 pm | Posted in KDevelop | Comments Off on debugger performance

Just a “quickie” while I wait for kdevelop3 to open the kdev4 sources.

I just did some debugging with MS Visual C++ and I feel like hugging our own debugger guru Vladimir Prus. I often heard people on #kdevelop complaining about the KDevelop3 debugger being sooo slow when debugging, especially compared to MSVC. Sorry, but I can’t sign that anymore, doing a procedure step in MSVC takes at least 1 or 2 seconds and it is not much slower than in KDevelop3 (kdev3 is a bit slower than that, but nothing that you have to whine about it🙂. Also I noticed that MSVC forgot about a few local variables in its variable list, something that never happened in Kdevelop3 for me.

We do lack a couple of features from MSVC and I agree that KDev3’s debugger still does some things far too often, but really its not that bad at all.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

