KHTML, KDevelop and Phonon

December 13, 2007 at 3:24 pm | Posted in KDevelop | 6 Comments

Diego is wrong, I doubt Konqueror will use QtWebkit with KDE 4.1, as far as I can see there’s still quite some way to go until there is a KPart for QtWebkit that has the same featureset as KHTML. Apart from that KHTML is still very active and very maintained, anybody looking at the commit log can see that. And so far I’ve only come across one site for which I need firefox, this blog page.

Diego is also wrong about another thing he said recently in his QDevelop announcement, unfortunately my comment there hasn’t been approved yet. Maybe there was something wrong about my name and email, unfortunately the blogsite doesn’t show anything in readable english and thus I had to guess where to write what. Anyway, what I wanted to comment on is that KDevelop can’t do the “maximize editor area to full mainwindow” thing, it can, all you have to do is close all toolwindows and you can do that in KDevelop3 with a simple keyboard shortcut. In KDevelop4 however you can even maximize the toolviews, this has been added by Hamish a few weeks ago, its really super-handy and very nice.

And last but not least I guess I also have to say something about the move of Trolltech. Its great, seeing that the xine-backend triggers a few problems/bugs in xine or even the kernel its really good to have another backend under linux (I have to admit that I’m not sure gstreamer works directly on top of alsa, maybe its using xine as well and thus the same problems might arise there). Its even better that we’ll have Windows and MacOS backends for KDE 4.0, that makes the whole process of porting to these platforms a lot faster – at least for the multimedia apps. And those might give KDE4 quite a momentum, at least on Windows where there are mainly two competitors which both are not as great as amarok.

6 Comments

  1. GStreamer definitely doesn’t use xine-lib, it talks to the hardware (ALSA, OSS, …) or sound server (PulseAudio, …) directly.

  2. Hi,

    First, please read what I wrote in Tom’s blog. It will explain how do I fell about KHTML. here is a direct link: http://www.omat.nl/drupal/i-love-khtml#comment-8098

    Now about your comment on my blog, I got 5 spams from some IP saying my blog is great and he likes reading my thoughts (I think this is not you). If you want to post, please do it again and I will aprove it as soon as I see it. However, I do understand the problems you have with my blog’s UI. Blogli are great folks, but theydo not provide my facilities to change the UI back to english without opening a new blog (no access to the wordpress configuration). I will probably open a new blog soon, with English UI (it will be easier to for all the planet to trash me back….)

    Anyway, as for {q,k}develop: You miss-understood the feature. It just hides all toolbars on demand, and by pressing the same keyboard once more it displays them back. The features you talk about, are they available in KDevelop3 or KDevelop4? In KDevelop3 I did not find a way to hide on demand all the toolwindows. … and the maximize toolwindows… great feature. I read your announcement and it I am now waiting for the compilation to end.

  3. @Diego:
    I guess a separate comment about the same thing on your blog isn’t that much needed anymore. I have to admit I was a bit “shocked” when I looked at your blog and didn’t see my comment there :) Its sad to hear that the interface doesn’t allow to change language, ideally it would allow the readers of your blog to select the language for the website.

    About KDevelop: Indeed toolbars are not removed when maximizing and I personally doubt the usefulness of that. More than a single toolbar just clutters the mainwindow UI and doesn’t make sense. We try to keep the number of toolbars very small with just the most important items on them.
    About the availability: KDevelop3 can hide all toolviews at once with a keyboard shortcut. I’m not sure at the moment wether thats already implemented in KDevelop4. The shortcut for that in KDevelop3 is Strg+Shift+C, but you’ll need 3.4.1 at least.

  4. ok, I see that… control+shift+c. How to restore them now? I made that command a “toggle” command in QDevelop.

    I also wish that the kate developers did the same with the find/replace command (I am not really happy about it’s implementation, even tough it’s still the best text editor ever).

  5. Thanks for setting the record straight, apaku.
    But… what’s the problem you’re having with WordPress, and in what version of konq?

  6. SadEagle: I’ll send a mail to the kfm list, I guess this is more apropriate there than here :)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

