Taking up speed

November 12, 2007 at 11:41 am | Posted in KDevelop | 5 Comments

KDevelop4 has lost quite some speed in development after the SoC this year, mainly due to the limited time of the active developers. Luckily this currently changes, Hamish as re-introduced the class browser and problem reporter and is currently working on the user interface🙂

His re-engagement in KDevelop hacking infected me as well, I dropped my private pet project and dived back into the project support. The result is that KDevelop4 can now, build, install, clean, prune (distclean) and configure Make, CMake and QMake projects (uhm, well CMake doesn’t prune yet as CMake’s Makefiles don’t produce an according makefile target). I think thats enough to use KDevelop4 for basic hacking among us KDevelop hackers, once the rest of the “showstoppers” are in place. IIRC (details on the list I think) this includes a bit more code navigation, better ui and of course vcs support.

The latter already works – AFAIK, but is not well integrated yet. I’ll try to bring my rework of the plugin design into a state where I can merge it back intro trunk this week. Then it’ll take only a couple of days to add generic version control stuff to the context menus.

5 Comments

  1. I recently evaluated KDevelop and Eclipse CDT for basic Qt4 hacking. And the winner is still Kdevelop, no matter how much greater fundings the CDT gets.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. I’ve just tested Kdeevlop4 with the best Qt4 style adound (cloudcity/bespin).. and It seriously kicks asses!!!!!!!! One of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen in my life!!!!

    It works ok, it has the best contextual completion around but doesn’t find my Qt libs, so it can only interpret local stuff, but there is always room for improvement.

    Plus the interface has been really polished.. a giant leap forward Kdevelop3 (which I use at work on daily basis and still like it very much!)

    Thanks Apaku and All the other People involved!!!

  3. Good to hear! Being a big fan of the “old” KDevelop I am looking forward for all the great things that come with KDevelop4. Has there been a decision on a date for feature freeze yet? Thanks a lot for KDevelop and keep up the good work!

  4. Well, the ui is not nearly completed. It does already work quite ok, specially since the last couple of days when Hamish hammered out all the obvious little bugs.

    As I’ve already said elsewhere some times, KDevelop4 is currently targeted to be released around the KDE 4.1 release. Though that depends on how fast that once comes. We still need quite some time for buildsystem support and probably also SVN/CVS support.

  5. Awesome. I use KDevelop 3 every day, and it already rocks in most areas (code completion sometimes freezes up the interface for a second). Can’t wait for v4🙂


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

