Taking up speed

November 12, 2007 at 11:41 am | Posted in KDevelop | 5 Comments

KDevelop4 has lost quite some speed in development after the SoC this year, mainly due to the limited time of the active developers. Luckily this currently changes, Hamish as re-introduced the class browser and problem reporter and is currently working on the user interface :)

His re-engagement in KDevelop hacking infected me as well, I dropped my private pet project and dived back into the project support. The result is that KDevelop4 can now, build, install, clean, prune (distclean) and configure Make, CMake and QMake projects (uhm, well CMake doesn’t prune yet as CMake’s Makefiles don’t produce an according makefile target). I think thats enough to use KDevelop4 for basic hacking among us KDevelop hackers, once the rest of the “showstoppers” are in place. IIRC (details on the list I think) this includes a bit more code navigation, better ui and of course vcs support.

The latter already works – AFAIK, but is not well integrated yet. I’ll try to bring my rework of the plugin design into a state where I can merge it back intro trunk this week. Then it’ll take only a couple of days to add generic version control stuff to the context menus.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.