Speaking of backups

October 26, 2007 at 3:18 pm | Posted in KDevelop | 5 Comments

I decided to setup dovecot on my local boxes to easily share them between mutt and KMail (need mutt for remote access), which meant to rename all maildirs in $HOME/.Mail into .<box> to make it possible to see them over imap – what a broken convention :(

Unfortunately I didn’t pay too close attention to the renaming command and did something like

find -type d | xargs mv $i .$i

so I lost all mail :(

Backup to the rescue, I though – yeah doing that every week. Then the horror scenario: The backup disc ran out of space last time I did a back in August – AAAAAH :(

So any mail I received between august and today is lost, including some pretty important private stuff. Lesson learned, am already repartitioning the backup pc so the backup disc has more space.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.