XRandr 1.2

September 18, 2007 at 9:53 pm | Posted in Debian | 2 Comments

Today XServer 1.4 and with it new ATI driver entered Debian unstable. Unfortunately that breaks existing Xinerama Setups, but the helpful package maintainers very fast replied that I need to use XRandR 1.2 now.

So I tried and failed😦 I do have an xorg.conf that “should” work, only one monitor,device,screen section no leftovers from Xinerama. But XRandR always tells me there are no modes for my CRT, even though it seems to find the modes just fine – at least the radeon driver prints them all in the log. More info on the Debian Bugreport #443122

Hopefully this will be resolved soon, the package maintainers seem to be very knowledgeable about the problems and are very responsive.

2 Comments

  1. Just out of curiosity, does the new radeon driver bork your DisplaySize and subsequently bork your DPI? (kinfocenter would tell you.) A random guy wants to know🙂 I’ve been having to set my DisplaySize with xrandr after I login, and that doesn’t really help running apps– If this isn’t happening just for me I’ll file a bug vs the r300 driver in Debian and upstream.

  2. Yes, the single-head-display that I can get working has 96dpi, for a 1680×1050 screen on a monitor that is roughly 33.2×20.5 cm. I even set the DisplaySize in the xorg.conf but that doesn’t help at all.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

